Search This Site

Live the Difference
IRC Seal

Fellows of the IRC

The Fellows mission is to enhance and advance the academic experience and careers of the IRC students.  The Fellows are grouped in three categories: Morea, Professorial, and Community fellow.

Morea Fellows

Internationally recognized administrators and leaders who support the IRC and are willing to interact with residents.

  • James Aylor, Department of Electrial and Computer Engineering, Dean Emeritus

  • Holger Babinsky, Professor of Cambridge University

  • Ian Baucom, UVA Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences

  • Rita Dove, Commonwealth Professor, Creative Writing Program

  • Diana Eck, Professor of Comparative Religion and Indian Studies, Master of Lowell House, Harvard University
  • Dorrie Fontaine, Dean of Nursing
  • Nathaniel Howell, Retired Professor Emeritus and Former U.S.Ambassador

  • Baroness Helena Kennedy, Principle of Mansfield College at Oxford University, member of the British Parliament
  • Patricia Lampkin, UVA Vice President & Chief Student Affairs Officer

  • Jeff Legro, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Richmond

  • Larry Sabato, Director of the UVA Center of Politics

  • Allan Stam, UVA Dean of Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy

  • Kathryn Thornton, Engineering Professor and Former NASA Astronaut

  • Carl Zeithaml, Dean of McIntire School of Commerce

Professorial Fellows

Honored UVA Professors willing to mentor a small set of IRC students (2nd or 3rd years, as coordinated by the Director of Studies) with informal meetings each semester.

  • Steven Arata, Professor Department of English

  • Silvia Blemker, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

  • Brad Brown, Associate Professor of Commerce and Founding Fellow

  • Peter Brunjes, Commonwealth Professor of Psychology

  • Anselmo Canfora, Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Architecture

  • Lisa Goff, Assistant Professor Department of English

  • Tom Horton, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science

  • Manuel Lerdau, Professor of Environmental Sciences

  • Angeline Lillard, Professor, Department of Psychology

  • Eric Loth, Rolls Royce Professor of Engineering
  • Garrick Louis, Associate Professor, Department of Systems and Information Engineering

  • Jonah Schulhofer-Wohl, Department of Politics

  • Sheetal Sekhri, Assistant Professor, Department of Economics

  • Lisa Russ Spaar, Professor of English and Creative Writing

  • Mark Thomas, Professor of History and Economics

  • Brantly Womack, Professor of Politics

Community Fellows

Distinguished Leaders of the university and local area who create and design academic events for IRC students each year.

  • Michelle Ball, Assistant Director, University of Virginia Career Services

  • Linda Callihan, International Scholar Advisor

  • Tim Cunningham, Assistant Professor of Nursing

  • Valencia Harvey, Assistant Director, Virginia College Advising Corps

  • Dreama Montrief Johnson, Associate Director, University of Virginia Career Center

  • Marga Odahowski, Speaker, Author, Lifestyle Strategist and former IRC Director of Studies

  • Maureen Oswald - Volunteer Coordinator - UVa Hospital
  • Jannatul Pramanik, MPH, Program Coordinator, Multicultural Student Services
  • Margo Smith, Director & Curator of the Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Museum

  • Cherry Stewart- Charlottesville Schools
  • Yuri Urbanovich, Lecturer in BIS Program, School of Continuing and Professional Studies

  • Chris Wilcox-Elliott, Assistant Dean, Global Affairs; Director Center for Global Commerce

Graduate Fellows

Accomplished graduate students at UVA that are interested in engaging IRC residents.